Chancery Court Clerk

Haywood County Chancery Court

Chancery Court
100 S. Dupree
Brownsville, TN 38012
(731) 772-0122

Office Hours: 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday

Chancery Court is a court of equity. Jurisdiction includes real estate disputes, breach of contract cases, divorces, adoptions, injunctions, name changes, and delinquent property taxes.

Probate Court – Since 1982, the Chancery Court has exclusive jurisdiction to probate wills and administer estates. Conservatorship and guardianship petitions are also filed here.

Records in the Chancery Court Office date back to the early 1800s. Some of the early 1800 records have been converted to microfilm, and it is stored and at the Elma Ross Public Library, 1011 East Main Street, Brownsville, TN 38012. Telephone: 731-772-9534.

Haywood County Chancery Court records, except sealed records, may be viewed on site pursuant to the Public Records Policy.

Please call the Haywood County Chancery Court for information regarding filing fees and any other questions you might have.

Local Rules of Court –

George-EllisGeorge R. Ellis

204 N. Court
Trenton, TN 38382

George Robert Ellis received his bachelor of science degree from the University of Tennessee at Knoxville and his Juris Doctorate Degree from the Cecil C. Humphrey’s School of Law at the University of Memphis.

Chancellor Ellis is the judge of the Chancery Court of the Twenty-Eighth Judicial District of Tennessee which encompasses Gibson, Crockett, and Haywood counties. A native of Gibson County, he served as City Judge of Dyer and General Sessions Judge of Gibson County prior to becoming Chancellor.

He is a veteran having served in the United States Navy as a Lieutenant Junior Grade.

Sarah Levy

Chancery Court Clerk & Master

Sarah Levy has been a resident of Haywood County since 1994. She holds a Juris Doctorate from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock School of Law.

She was admitted to the Arkansas Bar in 1990 and the Tennessee Bar in 1994.

She has served as Asst. Attorney General in Arkansas and Asst. District Attorney in Tennessee.



Rochelle Futrell, Chief Deputy Clerk

Felicia Bond, Deputy Clerk